Holiday Peppermint Martini

IMG_20151115_104151476_HDR edit 3

Ho ho ho! It may be the 4th of December, but the holiday season has officially begun. Hanukkah is a few days away, and Christmas is only a mere three weeks away. Have you dusted off your menorahs and Christmas lights yet? Sent out your holiday cards? Bought the kiddos their favorite toys? There’s so much to do and so little time!

Sorry, pardon my brief freak-out – I think holiday stress is hardwired into my nature. My family had a number of stressful holiday rituals that seemed fun in theory, but were actually a lot of work. When I was younger, we would build a freestanding gingerbread house (no milk cartons here, guys- be impressed) and spend hours decorating it, eating candy, and making sure the gingerbread roof didn’t cave in on itself. Sounds fun, right? It was, until one of us had a meltdown because of the resulting sugar high and crash. We would also bake hundreds of cookies for friends and family, and my sister and I would end up squabbling over space and utensils by the end of the day. On New Year’s Eve we would scramble to make sushi for the next day and the tension between my sister and I took a backseat to the drama between the older adults, which proved that some things run in the family.

Ironically, when I moved hundreds of miles away from my family, I still baked a ton of cookies by myself for the holidays, even though no one was telling me to. I think the masochistic side of me missed the drama and stress that the holidays bring. And yes, of course I missed my crazy family too.

Whatever your holiday rituals entail, don’t forget to treat yourself to some booze, either to celebrate, or just to make it through the most joyous (and sometimes stressful) time of the year. Made of white chocolate liqueur, vanilla vodka, peppermint schnapps, and garnished with crushed candy canes, this smooth and creamy peppermint martini will put you in the holiday spirit for the month to come.

Holiday Peppermint Martini (Yield: 1 cocktail)

Ingredients:
2 ounces white chocolate liqueur
1 ½ ounces peppermint schnapps
1 ½ ounces vanilla vodka
Crushed ice
1 candy cane, crushed (for garnish)
2 parts sugar to 1 part water (for garnish)

Directions:

  1. Pulverize the candy cane in a blender or with a mortar and pestle. Pour the powder onto a flat surface.
  2. Mix together the sugar and water in a shallow container big enough to fit the rim of the martini glass. Dip the edges of the martini glass into the water, then dip immediately into the candy cane powder. Rotate the glass so that the rim is covered in candy cane powder.
  3. add the white chocolate liqueur, vodka, peppermint schnapps, and ice in a cocktail shaker. Shake until chilled, strain into the martini glass, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

